DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic GPS Receiver Location

Teejay41

Reactions
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to drone flying, having obtained my first DJI last autumn. It was a P4. Since then, in the spring, I bought a P4Pro and more recently a Mavic. So as you can see, I'm pretty well bitten by the bug. I would add that it is the photography and videography aspects of drones that really interest me, having formally trained and qualified in Photography in my youth, and have earned, or partially earned my living from Photography ever since.

I have a Trackimo device attached to the P4Pro, but in a quest to add similar drone recovery facilities to the Mavic, I have just bought a Loc8tor Lite and I intend to sticky-pad one of its electronic tags to the Mavic AC body. A suitable spot would be on the top surface just behind the battery (between the two forward motors when folded away). But it occurs to me that the GPS receiver/antenna might be under the casing surface at this spot and GPS signals become attenuated due to the presence of the Loc8tor device. For anyone not familiar with the Loc8tor, details can be found here: Loc8tor Lite additional tag

Does anyone know whereabouts the GPS system is installed within the Mavic's casing? I could then be sure to avoid masking it with the stick-on tag.

Thanks in anticipation,

Tony.

Reactions: Teejay41
I put a loc8tor very close to the gps, over the dji logo on the tail and had gps problems. Very risky because it can cause a fly away. Moved the loc8tor to one of the rear legs and no problems.

I put a loc8tor very close to the gps, over the dji logo on the tail and had gps problems. Very risky because it can cause a fly away. Moved the loc8tor to one of the rear legs and no problems.

Rear legs? I'm guess you have a landing gear add-on?