DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini Flying over water help

CaptLou

Reactions
I am new to the drone game so forgive the stupid questions. I recently purchased a mavic mini to record footage while fishing. Moving at 2.5 mph I launched my drone off the boat and at first was working well. I was only apprx 8 ft above the water and apprx 10 ft away from the boat. Then I got a notice saying the max distance was reached. The drone hovered and I could not fly it. I had to turn and grab it out of the air. I also tried this on land while driving very slowly. It says I have reached 160 ft and it no longer will control. Any help or tricks I can do to get this drone to do what I am asking for is appreciated. My goal is to basically manually fly the drone around the boat at low altitude and close proximity to the boat. Thank you

I'm new to this stuff too, and I'm sure others will have experienced-based advice that I can't offer (yet). But just to give it a go on my limited understanding, is your boat moving/drifting far enough from the take off point to trigger the distance limitation? Your home point is likely set at take off. Even if the Mini is still in close proximity to you, if you are not in close proximity to where you started, seems like you could hit the limitation.

On the DJI Fly app, can you reset the home point to where you and the controller are? If so, once you drift too far, seems like you could solve it that way. My two-cents worth based on what I am learning about how everything works, not experience or practice.

Last edited:
You may be right. I think there is a way to update my home point I may have to do this frequently to keep the drone flying. Hopefully others can provide some advice. Thank you.