DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini Lost at Sea

Chaosrock

Reactions
I made a rookie mistake. There are probably hundreds of posts like this. I’m a drone novice and I attempted to fly under a rock arch on the coast of California. It was about 25 high and 10 feet wide. I would have made it but I lost signal on the far side of the rock and the drone met the rock wall. It fell down and laid overturned on the floor of the arch. I don’t think I’ll be able to retrieve it. The rock cluster is probably 300 meters off the beach. The water is cold, turbulent, and deep. I’m on vacation in Sea Ranch.

If anyone makes it to the rock cluster on Pebble beach in Sea Ranch, the drone is yours. If you send it back to me, I’ll pay well for it. I have the drone insurance, so a replacement wouldn’t be expensive for me. I only need to have possession of the damaged drone to get the replacement. I have accepted my fate of not retrieving it though.

Rookies: don’t try difficult maneuvers if you are new to the practice.

There is a kayak rental place 5 miles up the road.
Adventure Rents
Mill Bend Rd, Gualala, CA 95445
(707) 884-4386

Maybe worth renting a kayak, strapping it to your roof and driving down to the beach. Kayak rentals are usually pretty cheap.

There is a kayak rental place 5 miles up the road.
Adventure Rents
Mill Bend Rd, Gualala, CA 95445
(707) 884-4386

Maybe worth renting a kayak, strapping it to your roof and driving down to the beach. Kayak rentals are usually pretty cheap.

Thank you for the information! I might have to do that. I’m here for another few days.

Thank you for the information! I might have to do that. I’m here for another few days.
If you do, stay safe. You said the water is deep and tubulent. Don't do it alone, have an observer who can call the coast guard if necessary, and wear a life jacket. Maybe look into doing it at low tide if the timing lines up.