DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini noise warning during lockdown.

OldGuy

Reactions
I have read a few posts recently about neighbour’s complaints so I thought I would mention what happened to me the other day.
I have been flying drones from my garden for the last 3 years without problems. I have about 1 acre of land with a garden and trees etc. Now we are in lockdown I thought it an ideal time to continue flying around my place with the Mavic Mini.
The other day I was flying when someone shouted “stop flying that drone or I will call the police”. I immediately landed to investigate. It turned out to be a neighbour some 100 m away on a lower level and across the other side of the main road. A short conversation soon settled the issue. The gentleman in question thought my drone was being piloted by thieves who were using drones to survey properties before breaking into them!? When I said that I was just flying around my place he was relieved and said "no problem".
Unfortunately everything is so quiet with the lockdown. There is little or no traffic noise so the Mavic Mini can be heard literally miles away. In the past I have flown my M2Z and the Mini from my property without any problems.
The familiar high pitched buzz of a drone is especially noticeable when it’s so quite and does attract attention. As the general public thanks to many years of negative publicity do not like drones I am expecting more problems in the future if I keep flying from home during this lockdown!

what you could do is print some letters to you closest neighbour's and drop them through their letter boxes, explaining that you will be flying from your home during lockdown,and you apologise for the noise your drone makes in advance, and say that you fly within the rules

possibly also suggesting you arent recording footage of their property or them ....