DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

mavic mini wont connect

AFUA

Reactions
Greetings, I am new to this forum and dji, I have more than 20 years UAV experience and have piloted everything from 2.5oz. MUAVs to 350lbs aircraft. But, I am not the computer/autopilot guy, I usually have the sticks for test flights, missions or recovery....
I can't get the new Mav Mini to connect. I updated the firmware by downloading the app to PC, putting it on SD card and loading into
a V20 phone. The phone has no sim, but is hooked up to wifi to get started. I have read about people successfully flying with phones on airplane mode...
The app comes up, but like others, I can't get past the first screen, the aircraft gives flashing yellow, then green for a bit, then goes to red......I already tried formatting the SD card for the aircraft. Do I need an SD card in the phone? Do I need to set it to airplane mode, so it won't try to use the phone?
Do I need to update the firmware on the aircraft? I have not found instructions for doing that...
Also tried to go to the DJI website to download dji assistant, but I only go to the German website, even when I type in the URL, it adds the /de for Germany.....

Are you certain the drone is not connecting to the controller, could it be the phone is not connecting to the controller? Does the phone show it is being charged by your controller?
Remove the mSD card from the drone.
Unless it is a quirk of that phone, memory and simm cards in the phone are irrelevant.
What process are you using to get the drone to connect to the controller?
It may not be of much use but the LED colour codes for the drone are found on -page 12 of the manual. https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/Mavic_Mini/Mavic_Mini_User_Manual_v1.2_enI.pdf

It is likely that you do not need to update ANY firmware unless the existing firmwares clash or can not work together ( That I remember, I haven't experienced that myself).