DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro 1 vs Phantom 3 Advanced

samiam

Reactions
While there seem to be topics here dedicated to DJI drone models other than the Mavic series, I don't see one specifically for this model, so if the mods see fit to move this thread to a more appropriate topic (or merge it with my previous thread on what to look for in a Pro 1), it's fine with me.

I am a rookie, and have been looking for a reliable, capable FPV drone to start with that wouldn't cost over $1000 and that I wouldn't immediately outgrow. The Mavic Pro 1 seemed to be a good choice. I have been finding some promising examples for sale locally, but hadn't yet decided on one to pursue. This morning, I found a DJI drone listed on FB Marketplace, supposed to be in excellent condition, that the seller has identified as a Phantom 3 Advanced. Can someone point me to information (here or elsewhere) that summarizes the differences (including strengths and weaknesses) between these models? Is the Phantom even FPV capable? Can its firmware be modified/replaced in the same manner as the Pro 1, if I should ever decide to go in that direction? Is $300 a good price for a decent example, and are there items I should check out that are specific to this model? I will definitely require an in-person flight demo before purchase. Other thoughts? Thanks in advance for sharing your expertise.

haven,t used a phantom 3 so i don,t know much about it have used atried phantom 2 but the difference between it and the pro the phantom is going back to cave man days , although the camera on the mavic pro isn,t up to all the new ones it is a reliable rocksolid little aircraft and does great 4k

I have a Phantom 3 advanced and a Mavic 2, I know you are talking about a Mavic 1.
With regards to the Phantom there is an entire forum, Pro/Adv Discussion, dedicated to Phantom 3's.