DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro 2 RAW photo files

CiaranMcHugh

Reactions
Hi, I'm a landscape photographer and am looking to buy a Pro 2 to use for my photography. I am just looking to double check that the quality of the photograph images are good enough to sell. Does anyone have some RAW samples at various ios setting that they would be able to share? Had been hoping the Pro3 would be announced by now but looks like could be any time this year. Thanks Ciaran.

You can forget about high ISO. Stay at base ISO bracket 5 shots. Do not try to push the flies as noise even at base ISO can be extreme.

Resolution is 20mp can produce a fine print.

Avoid aperture setting past F5.6 unless you are trying to shoot towards the sun and don’t want blown high lights.

Still the best flying 20MP camera reasonably priced. Only other option is the Inspire and that’s a lot more cash and risk.

When conditions are perfect MP2 can produce excellent images.

Paul C

I'd go with that. ISO100.
Absolutely max if it cant be avoided, ISO400 with post processing noise reduction.

Sharpness is best around f/4 but in reality there's very very little difference f/2.8 to f/4.5 so gives you 1.3 stops to work with.
Once you hit f/5.6 diffraction starts to really bite and soften an image.

The DNGs produced are a little oversaturated, especially in the green channel but thats nothing a Colour Checker tool cant sort out to create a proper profile.

For video i dont class ISO above 200 as acceptable at all. Too much detail lost with the required noise reduction.

That said, the M2 used at ISO100 or 200 between f/2.8 and f/4.5 can produce excellent images. More than good enough for printing or selling. Its pretty good for a drone with a small sensor.

Reactions: anotherlab