DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro 500m height restriction

McGhee473

Reactions
Hi all, if I were to fly my mavic pro off the edge of a mountain would it decend to below 500m of ground directly below it or would it keep within 500m above its launch altitude? I want to fly across a valley. Thanks.

Reactions: Mica
Hi, Newbie here from Boston. Great question, can't wait to learn from all the knowledgeable drone pilots here.

The Mavic will fly down into the valley if you would like. The display telemetry in the DJIGO4 app and Remote Controller would both indicate negative values for altitude. It can then fly up to the Maximum height that you have set within the DJIGO4 app for Max Altitude or 3.7 miles whichever comes first.

Please keep altitude to 400 feet < than Home Point. FAA requires that you do so.

The mavic will not exceed 500 meters above its launch point unless the firmware was altered. If you fly from a mountain and cross a valley, the valley floor elevation will not matter to the drone. All altitude readings are established at launch point. If you fly down into the valley, from your launch point, you will get negative numbers on the screen.

The Mavic will fly down into the valley if you would like. The display telemetry in the DJIGO4 app and Remote Controller would both indicate negative values for altitude. It can then fly up to the Maximum height that you have set within the DJIGO4 app for Max Altitude or 3.7 miles whichever comes first.

Please keep altitude to 400 feet < than Home Point. FAA requires that you do so.
Where did you find a mavic that goes up 3.7 miles? I want one!

Reactions: BD0G
I am not advising this nor condoning this , but here is one at 8200 feet above the island of Milos which is a volcanic Greek island in the Aegean Sea.

Last edited: