DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro Fly Away Procedures

MGrosvold

Reactions
I'm a pretty novice drone pilot and soon (well, hopefully soon) to be Mavic owner. Never having owned a DJI aircraft, I was wondering if there is a guide or procedure to follow in case of a fly away. What procedure should a pilot perform to A) attempt to regain control of the aircraft, B) locate and recover the aircraft and C) determine the cause of the occurrence. What information can the logs provide and does DJI offer any assistance with B or C??

I'm not planning for a fly away but would like to be prepared for one just in case. After it happens is not the time to scramble figuring out what to do next.

Thanks for any guidance you can provide.

I was wondering if there is a guide or procedure to follow in case of a fly away.
Assuming the Mavic is going to be as reliable as the Phantom 3/4, we're going to see very few legit fly aways. Pilots normally mention "fly away" when they have no idea why the aircraft didn't obey their commands. I've researched many P3/P4 fly away cases. 99% of them were caused by pilot error. With that in mind, the Mavic manual is the best guide. Read it. Understand it. And, keep reading it until you fully understand it.

attempt to regain control of the aircraft
It depends on the situation. I realize that's not helpful, but no fly away situation is the same.

locate and recover the aircraft
If the downlink (video) was connected for the entire flight (or at least the end of the flight), the map in DJI GO will show you exactly where the Mavic is located. If the downlink disconnects, all you'll have is the last recorded location in the Mavic flight log. Considering what the Mavic was doing at that time, it's often pretty easy to figure out about where it landed/crashed.

determine the cause of the occurrence