DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Pro vs. Platinum

LTWATCH

Reactions
I am new to this drone thing. Been waiting a while to purchase. mainly for viewing roofs for work, and some fun to. R/C and full scale flyer from many years ago.
So I got a nice bundle from B&H with a Mavic Pro. Just opened box a couple of hours ago, read all instructions, and discover a bad battery that was in drone. So brand new and already having issues. Bad omen in my book. So I can probably spend about $300 more and get the Platinum model. I figure it is newer, but not yet proven. Am I over reacting to an issue of it might be "old stock", or is it common for this stuff to happen. And if you were me, would you insist on getting a "newer" model of the drone. I don't have money to burn, it is just that sinking feeling when something expensive like this is faulty from the start.
Since there are seasoned veterans here, I would appreciate some educated opinions.
Thank You, Larry T.

The batteries do sometimes become damaged when sitting idle for long periods of time. That's not a sign that something is wrong with the drone itself though. If saving money is important, then stick with the Mavic Pro. It's nearly as good as the Mavic Pro Platinum.

Reactions: LTWATCH
The batteries do sometimes become damaged when sitting idle for long periods of time. That's not a sign that something is wrong with the drone itself though. If saving money is important, then stick with the Mavic Pro. It's nearly as good as the Mavic Pro Platinum.
Nearly? My MP's I think, are actually better than the MPP. Less issues and are reliable on the right FW. Batteries?, They are the same. Buy a MP battery and just put a MPP skin on it.
Hey @msinger, there is a thought. Just sell MPP battery Skins for the regular MP batteries? They are more readily available..