DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic take off from balcony

Neto

Reactions
Hi!

I'm a complete noob on drones.
And this is my first question here...so, I'm sorry if it is too basic.
I live in the 10th store of a building here in Brazil, with a great skyline view.
My question is: can I take off (in normal mode) from the balcony of my apartment or the Mavic will fall straight to the ground?
Sorry again for such a noob question.

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Reactions: FLwaverunner
You'd probably want to hand launch to ensure your Mavic is away from any type of magnetic metal objects. Once you throttle up, your Mavic will lift up and away from your hand.

FYI, taking off from a balcony is a pretty dangerous thing to do if it's not on the top of the building. Keep in mind that you could seriously injure someone below if your Mavic falls to the ground. Also, your Mavic will not be able to return home (if it needs to RTH for some reason) and auto land on the balcony if there is a roof overhead.

I think this is something you should be able to do. However, I've seen this done twice on youtube and the results were bad both times.

Here is one of them:

Reactions: jorcoleman
Think safety first.

At any time during your flight, what will happen if a blade breaks and the aircraft falls. If it falls in a lake, that's an expensive loss and litters the lake. If it falls in a tree it's a difficult recovery and repair. If it falls on people or flies where drivers are distracted it could cause serious injury. What is acceptable, and what is not?

Systems that fly indoors AND outdoors are new. Transitioning from one to the other is tricky and can cause a loss of control. I would not do this.

Thanks all.
I will not do it.
Not a big problem, since all I have to do is take off from the ground and climb.
This is I filmed yesterday. It bothers me the horizon not at level.
Any tips?

Thanks all.
I will not do it.