DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Video Editing

Armour

Reactions
I was using filmora trial to edit videos. I was just curious what others are using or recommend. I don't really want to buy premier or pay the monthly fee. I was looking at filmora as from what I have read the reviews are good. I was also looking into Cyberlink PhotoDirector as I saw it rated a little better than filmora. Looking to edit videos for YouTube, vimeo, and other things. Please help

Thanks

I've had no experience before in video editing. I downloaded the free version of "DaVinci Resolve" and it has been great so far

As everybody can see, you ask 10 people and you get 11 different proposals...(joke) All of the almost pro-type editing solutions will help us achieve a good result. But it is very important to provide good "food", .i.e. shoot the video in a way that very little information in the video is lost. The video needs to be sharp, blacks not too black and whites not too white (avoid clipping). Therefore, again, if you ask several people which setttings they use for the dronevideo, you get all kinds of different information. For Mavic (my new toy - still have the Typhoon H) there is DLog, Cinelike, Art, etc. From what I have gathered sofar, Dlog Cinelike and Art are mostly used, but then you need ND Filters to adjust the amount of light that hits your chip in the camera and this ND Filter should enable a setting like 2,7k/30 FPS and 1/60 secs (180 degree rule for smooth video movement). ISO can be adjusted up a bit from 100 to maybe 200, haven't tested the 300 yet. But thereafter noise is to be expected in the video. So, all in all, a very complex subject. Did I miss anything ? Yes, LUTS- they help to start the grading process, but then the settings have to be as provided by the LUT producer, otherwise it won't work and you will be disappointed.