DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic went rogue after mag interf

twitchyzero

Reactions
hello community

Seeking for help as something went wrong with my first flight. This is my first DJI bird but I have been flying Solo for 2 years prior.

So I've done my due dilligence before this. I did a lot of reading. Followed the safety pre-caution to a tee.

I understand there's no ATTI mode which is what I wanted to toggle into to get familiar with manual mode.

So i updated the firmware and went to an open field where I usually practice. GPS locked on, conditions looked good (some wind but very fair)...checked over the app and everything looked good.

Shortly after reaching 50ft it banks a hard left...I managed to get climb to 100ft. This is when things started going further south fast.

Mag Interf warning kicked in and I was in ATTI. Panick sets in as I noticed I had practically no control over the bird majority of the time.

When the opportunity did arise where I was able to nurse it back above home...it regains GPS momentarily then cuts out again and fly-away kicks into high gear again.

This went on for a solid 15 minutes until the Mavic auto-landed at 10% critical battery. Video was cached so I'm 90% confident it landed on a school's roof. Spoke with them and they may be able to get up there tomorrow morning to retrieve.

the quick-start guide didn't mention calibration so I didn't want to mess with the default.