Mini 2 or Mavic Air 2?

• Mini 2

Votes: 2 14.3%
  • Mavic Air 2

Votes: 12 85.7%

• Total voters

waynnad

Reactions
Hi guys. As a newbie, I'm planning to get one of these (for my trips) and trying to find out the following.

1. Which drone is best for a beginner - Mini 2 or Mavic Air 2?

I'm not savvy when it comes to operating drones especially, but am willing to learn. But what really matters most to me are:
  • Wind resistance
  • The ability to track me as the subject and my movements without having to operate and hold onto the remote or my phone
  • Ease of operating and flying the drone as a beginner
  • Obstacle avoidance (a bonus, but not necessary)

2. And is the Fly More Combo worth the additional cost?
3. Is an ND filter necessary?

Reactions: 1TenaciousG
Hi guys. As a newbie, I'm planning to get one of these (for my trips) and trying to find out the following.

I'm not savvy when it comes to operating drones especially, but am willing to learn. But what really matters most to me are:
  • Wind resistance
  • The ability to track me as the subject and my movements without having to operate and hold onto the remote or my phone

The Air 2 is better for wind resistance,
The Mini 2 doesn't have tracking as far as I know.
They both have the same app so it's extremely similar.
I never rely on obstacle avoidance but the Air 2 has it.
Also the SDK is not out for the Mini 2 yet so you'll have to wait till it's released to get third party software for it like litchi, dronelink etc...

Reactions: AZDave
Learning curve is about the same for both, I have both, the Air 2 has a few more features. If you think you'll be into it for the long haul, then the Air 2 is a solid choice if you want a few more bells and whistles. Personally, the obstacle avoidance and tracking on the Air 2 I rarely use, while the size of the mini 2 travels a bit easier.

Cheers!