DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 2 with a mini se gimbal.

Ol Drippy

Reactions
Hi all. Noob here. I recently purchased a mini 2 for cheap. My first drone. The gimbal was replaced with one from an SE and does not work. The mini 2 camera is the same. I asked the seller if he tried to calibrate it with python. He had not so I gave it a shot. The gimbal move ever so slightly during calibration and stopped. Calibrating didn't work. I've read online that the gimbals are the same for the mini 2's and the SE's but are they really? Should I get a mini 2 gimbal? If anyone can give me some insight into this it would be most appreciated. I've been looking for a couple of days for a compatibly answer with no luck. Thanks so much.

According to the specs in their manuals they are not the same camera. The mini 2 offers 4k and JPEG+RAW whereas the SE is limited to 2.7k and JPEG, there are other differences as well.
Whether they are all hardware or software related I do not know.
The gimbals also have different specs, the "Max Control Speed (tilt) " is greater in the, SE 120°/s vs 100°/s
Post the EXACT pyhton commands you issued.

Reactions: Ol Drippy
Thanks for replying. The previous owner just replaced the gimbal and not the camera. He transfered the 4k cam into the SE gimbal. The camera worked but the gimbal doesn't. It just points off to the side and down much like a sad child. Externally the gimbal's are the same. Internally I don't know. They may not be compatible. As for the python calibration I used DJI Firmware Tools on Ifixit and other YouTube videos. Thanks