DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 3 Pro lost at sea...

jmrmavic2

Reactions
Hi everybody, I am following most mini 3 Pro threads for a while now and I had an issue with mine yesterday when launching from back of sailing boat.
I have some experience with several bigger Dji drones in the past years without any issue, but this was my first mini.
Hand launching from the back deck it took off but lost power and lift almost immediately and it fell in the water without any chance of recuperation.
The wind was 3-4 Beaufort,...I had checked all safety settings before launch and had plenty of satellites.
There was no home point set yet because RC screen showed that ac was moving(sailing), I was expecting a home point setting once airborne.
Although home point at sea is to be reset from time to time.
Wondering if I made a pilot error or this could be hardware fault?
Thanks anyone for any advice, hope you can open the file.
Greetings JM

@jmrmavic2 ,there is an anomaly with the Mini 3 when hand launching ,and that is not to give it any upwards movement at the moment of launch ,or do the opposite and move your hand down to quickly at the moment of launch ,in both instances the motors stop
although you may not have done either of those movements intentionally ,unfortunately the pitching of the boat would have had a similar affect

I saw a youtube review saying you could not hand launch this drone. Maybe it was that?

Thanks for replying, must have missed or payed no attention to this part in the manual, the pitching of the boat must have caused that effect, never had any problem with handlaunch/catch on solid ground before.
Dji support is still analyzing log...
Thanks again for helping to understand!

The TXT file as per the phantomhelp link post #8.

Sorry for your loss, that would have been terrible watching that happen.
Even though it would have been seconds, it must have seemed like slow motion.