DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mini 3 Pro Tracking issue - backing away

jphoto

Reactions
I tested this today. Drone in the air, selected a human subject to track, selected Active Track, and hit go. The drone backed away from the subject about 10 feet.

Tried it again, same result.

Tried the same thing with the Air 2S, same subject, same surroundings, same lighting, same initial distance, the Air 2S does not back away when Active Track is started.

Is this a problem? Well...certain tracking shots work well only when the drone is fairly close to the subject, and when you set up the initial shot it's not helpful if the drone changes it just as you're ready to shoot.

So far I've had issues with tracking with the Mini 3P, none with the Air 2S.

Anyone else?

I’m new to drones and bought a mini 3 pro about 3 weeks ago.
My first though after reading your post was to try putting it into sport mode. This will turn the avoidance sensors off. You should be able to get closer to your subject.
As I said, I was 10 feet away from the subject in both tests. There were no obsticles.

I don't want to turn of the avoidance, and the Air 2S had its avoidance turned on. There was no obsticle that would need to be avoided in either case, other than the subject. You definitely need obsticle avoidance on if you fly in any of the autonomous modes in an area where there could be obsticles in the flight path.

Turning off the avoidance would be a bad work-around. If you're tracking a subject down a bath through the trees you need that on. That's not what I was doing, but that is one common application.

Last edited:
I got a reply from DJI Support which includes some really helpful information about tracking with the Air 2S and Mini 3 Pro. Below is a copy/paste from that email. I only added the distances in feet, since I don't do the metric conversion mentally very well.