DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

minimum altitude

keat63

Reactions
Mavic Pro:

I'm still learning how to fly the mavic safely, what it can and can't do.
Yesterday (in a safe area) I flew at an altitude of about 6 feet, just to see if the mavic would maintain this altitude, however, I could see that it was slowly getting closer to the ground.
At what point would it have stopped descending, or would it have just grounded. ??
In the Go4 app there's a setting for maximum altitude, what about a minimum altitude ?

Last edited:
Mavic Pro:

I'm still learning how to fly the mavic safely, what it can and can't do.
Yesterday (in a safe area) I flew at an altitude of about 6 feet, just to see if the mavic would maintain this altitude, however, I could see that it was slowly getting closer to the ground.
At what point would it have stopped descending, or would it have just grounded. ??
In the Go4 app there's a setting for maximum altitude, what about a minimum altitude ?
Did the telemetry show that it was getting lower or was that a visual perception? As the aircraft moves away parallax makes it appear to get closer to the ground. You see the same effect with railroad tracks, just picture them on their side and it will make sense to you.

I guess it could have been visual perception, maybe the ground was getting closer, rather than the mavic descending. It's difficult to say for sure.
As I'm still learning, I spend 99.9999% of my time watching the drone, not looking at the data.

Something for to investigate further the next time i'm out.

Reactions: ckoerner
...the mavic would maintain this altitude, however, I could see that it was slowly getting closer to the ground.
Your Mavic Pro have the "Terrain Follow Mode" ... that will give you a possibility to dial in a VPS height & then the Mavic will keep that height from the ground beneath. This function works going up hill only ... not down hill.