DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

MM nose pitch-up when slowing or stopping

Nonprophet

Reactions
Total newbie here, less than 6 hours flight time total. As I build more confidence I'm trying new things like flying circles, figure 8's, etc. I noticed from the beginning that when stopping or slowing down the mini, it tends to point the nose up briefly and jerk a bit before sttling in and hovering steady. I have been assuming this is normal behavior and probably due to my (lack of) piloting skills. This evening I flew mostly in C mode for more control and slower speeds, and worked on slowing it down without the nose-up pitch. While I was getting better, there's still a jerk upwards. So, it this normal, will it get better as I get better at flying, and/or do people not worry about this brief pitch-up and just edit it out in post?

Thanks!

Reactions: glockman27
Totally normal behavior. The gimbal is obviously not affected by the pitching and your pictures will remain smooth. In C mode the slower speeds lessen the pitch. Pretty much similar to slamming on brakes at a high speed. That's all. Enjoy , experiment and fly safe.

That’s the way for the drone to quickly reduce its speed

Reactions: Nonprophet
The drone pitches up/down/left/right to start and stop moving. When in a hover the props push air straight down. To get moving forward the nose of the drone has to dip down, so that the props can push air down and a bit backwards too. Once moving the drone keeps moving for a while (like sliding on ice) so to stop quicker it pitches its nose up briefly so the props push air down and forward. Exactly the same thing helicopters do.