DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My crash, damage and repair..

JustinVV

Reactions
Just thought I would share my crash and fix experience..

On last Saturday I crashed the drone into a tree and it hit the ground from around 30 of so meters (100 Feet)

It was across a field and in a tree line that followed a river. I walked out there and had to use "Find My Drone" to locate it, even then it took a bit of finding. The Drone structure was not damaged and it only has a small scratch on it. The Gimbal moved, but there wasn't any video. I grabbed it, packed it up and rode the motor bike home.

I have always been a bit worried about the gimbal on these as it looks so dinky. But any way, I have some electronics experience, and so it couldn't be that hard to work out.

I pulled apart the drone and removed the camera. I checked out the ribbon cable and the LVDS cable that carries the video. The motors on the gimbal all worked so I ruled out the ribbon cable, but I did pul the ribbon cable out of the gimbal just to see how it was installed.

I turned my attention to the LVDS cable (Low-voltage differential signaling - Wikipedia) It looked OK, there was no breaks in any strand, and the connectors looked OK. But one of the strands had a small kink in it. I sourced a new (Second hand one) and dismantled the camera to get to the back of it as one end connects here. I replaced the cable and video now works.

Things I learnt.

The Mavic is very easy to get apart and work on. Its not anywhere near as complicated as I expected
Even if the LVDS cable looks OK it can be damaged
DJI love glue
I am now not worried about crashes, with parts I am confident I can repair any part of it.

Images here

Mavic Gimbal Video Fix