DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My First Experience Color Grading a D-Log Footage for Air2s

jojonono

Reactions
I spent well over a year looking tutorials how to do this on youtube mostly,

sadly most folks simply say increase/decrease <<<>>> whites/blacks/shadows/highlights

and it was really frustrating looking up tutorials for a complete beginners like myself how to color grade and correct while not knowing the basic principals or WTF whites/blacks/shadows/highlights do !...

I was more determined learning this rocket science and took things to my own hands, i started bookmarking the most useful color grading tutorials (mostly for D-Log) and today i download a D-Log footage for the Air 2s from here:

and starting experimenting from the many tutorials i came across from youtube

after going through all of them i think i decided on a single method to color correct explained here:

that is play with white and black tille they are between 0-100 in the scopes
increase the saturation to something decent looking
DONT TOUCH CONTRAST
play with highlights (to make the skies look clearer) and shadows to eventually remove the washed out looks

the result was this:

and my settings:

when NOT touching highlights/shadows and playing with ONLY CONTRAST results came like this (clouds are not as clear)

did i finally nail it ? what do you think of my methodology ? any comments or room for improvement ?

thanks,

sadly most folks simply say increase/decrease <<<>>> whites/blacks/shadows/highlights

and it was really frustrating looking up tutorials for a complete beginners like myself how to color grade and correct while not knowing the basic principals or WTF whites/blacks/shadows/highlights do !...

I was more determined learning this rocket science and took things to my own hands, i started bookmarking the most useful color grading tutorials (mostly for D-Log) and today i download a D-Log footage for the Air 2s from here: