DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My first Video - looking for some constructive criticism

Scuddzy

Reactions
Total beginner, with Davinci Resolve and I have only had my Mavic Air since June. I'm Looking for a little constructive feedback for the first video compilation I made. It s a video of the town and house my dad grew up in. A cool Victorian home built in 1885 and the some sights around this idyllic rural Canadian village. Be easy its my first go at this.

Reactions: Little bird
The opening shot was great , but you went from a marine theme to church and grave yard shots quickly. If it was me and I'm only a newbie myself I would have kept the water based shots together as their own video.

Some very nice clear footage. Nice choice of background sounds or audio captures. The subjective part is that the scenes change too fast for me. I see a lot of this in advertising but it is hard for me to watch.

I am no expert so only my opinion for what it’s worth.
Some very nice shots & good sound effects.
BUT.
For me a lot of it was to fast.
I like the inside / outside of the house idea but I would have used a fade through transition rather than just a fast cut.
You have some good ideas so keep it up Thumbswayup

For me a lot of it was to fast.
I like the inside / outside of the house idea but I would have used a fade through transition rather than just a fast cut.
You have some good ideas so keep it up Thumbswayup

Thanks for looking! I agree my transitions were totally a weak point, any chance you could point me in the right direction of a fade through transition? I struggled with the speed, being new to this, i felt like clips were either far too long in duration to play at normal speed, but playing a shortened normal speed clip didn't give the footage the credit it deserved. I think i need to somehow find a balance.