DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My Mavic Air 2 lasted a week!!!

Tom25

Reactions
Hello,

Despite being a new Drone pilot, I was doing pretty well until today. When I decided to give it a bit more of a work out by following a local branch line out of direct visual range. As I neared the tunnel, at a distance of no more than 1/4 mile, it decided to elevate into a low hanging tree branch and crashed.

Eventually I found it, with considerable damage to the gimble, two prop assemblies, and other stuff. Thankfully, I purchased the care free package or whatever they call it, when they will repair or replace it two times. I'm hoping they don't count this as one of my replacements, due to it being a drone issue as I wasn't even touching the sticks at the time. In any case, rest assured I will NEVER operate the drone in a confined area again. Especially for recreational flying.

Troubled Tom

• Sad
Reactions: RayKelly and bebo
You should post your logs to the crash board.

What makes you think it was the drones fault?

Could it have been APAS avoiding something else? You said you were following a "branch line" then said it suddenly elevated. Later you said you weren't even on the sticks.

You will likely be charged a refresh, keep us updated if you decide not to post the logs though!

Sounds like you may have lost controller connection and drone started to RTH.... no upward sensors means it would hit anything above it that was below RTH altitude. Logs would help to figure it out.
Ahhh, good ol' RTH

That was prolly it

Reactions: Jorve82
Without more info I wouldn’t say that. He said he was bvlos. Didn’t say he lost contact. Need those logs to be sure what did happen.
@Tom25 I truly hate you crashed so soon after you got it and hard
to say what they will do. Download the flight data and these guys can tell you real quick just what did happen.