DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My Mavic Mini is out of control

apeink

Reactions
So, I’m a filmmaker but am new to drones. I went out the other day and bought the new Mavic Mini so I can learn how to use drones and stuff in filmmaking. I watched quite a few tutorials, tried flying inside and it was perfectly fine. Could control it great and use all the controls properly.

BUT, when I took it outside it was a different story. I tried to hover the drone and literally had its own mind. It started flying all over the place and then eventually crashed into a bush. So I then tried calibrating and all that jazz, took it outside and the same thing happened again.

I did get a message saying there wasn’t a strong GPS signal so it can’t “hover” and also it was fairly dark outside when I was testing it. Could this have anything to do with it? What am I doing wrong? Someone help me pls ?

*Note* it wasn’t windy outside at all

So, I’m a filmmaker but am new to drones. I went out the other day and bought the new Mavic Mini so I can learn how to use drones and stuff in filmmaking. I watched quite a few tutorials, tried flying inside and it was perfectly fine. Could control it great and use all the controls properly.

BUT, when I took it outside it was a different story. I tried to hover the drone and literally had its own mind. It started flying all over the place and then eventually crashed into a bush. So I then tried calibrating and all that jazz, took it outside and the same thing happened again.

I did get a message saying there wasn’t a strong GPS signal so it can’t “hover” and also it was fairly dark outside when I was testing it. Could this have anything to do with it? What am I doing wrong? Someone help me pls ?

Calibration isn’t a cure all. Some research on that subject may be beneficial.

Reactions: scooot