DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

My recent trip to Patong Beach in Phuket Thailand

LeRoytheBoy

Reactions
My recent trip to Patong Beach in Phuket Thailand.
Overnight a Tall Ship sailed into the harbour.
I got about 3/4 of the way out to it before the signal was starting to play up.
So being relatively new at this I decided to turn around and come back in.
Sorry no music yet as I'm still learning to edit.
Video was taken at 5 pm on November 16th 2019.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1buddyc and Bobvt
I edited the thread title and added your video to your original post for ya :)

Thanks for sharing. Glad you did not push the distance on the drone, where you stood a chance to loose it. I would have also been worried about the para glider
going back and forth in front of you.

Thanks for sharing. Glad you did not push the distance on the drone, where you stood a chance to loose it. I would have also been worried about the para glider
going back and forth in front of you.
Turns out I was always well above the Paragliders. They were always at about 30 meters above sea level. I made sure I wasn't going in for the kill at about 80 meters.

One thing I would like to ask is. I recently saw a YouTube VDO about a set of car keys, when held near a container of water, the signal strength distance for opening the car door is enhanced 5 fold for opening a car door. It has something to do with changing the wave length of the signal emitted.

Is the signal strength between a drone and its remote enhanced when flying over water.???
When flying over water, will you fly further if you fly lower to the water.????

Last edited:
I have been to Patong beach many times, I’ll probably take my MM on my next trip. Any issues with security checks or anything traveling with your Mini to Thailand?

Thanks for sharing

Reactions: SnoopyMJG