DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mystery flyaway: What happened?

Edslittleworld

Reactions
Hello, I'm a reasonably experienced drone pilot without any crashes to my record. I've flown both Phantoms and Mavics for years. However, that dreaded event happened today. :(

I was flying around the craggy mountains of Southern Arizona. I was gently "barnstorming" the peaks of nearby mountains when I decided to fly thru a V-crack in the ridgeline. I had turned the Sport mode off and was just inching thru the V-crack (which was around 25-30 feet wide) around 800' elevation from me in the valley. The drone's relative elevation was around 25 feet high from the bottom of the V-crack. It was fairly breezy, but not too windy.

The Mavic was approximately 3000 feet away and I had good signal. I was also flying with the DJI goggles. Right as I passed thru the V-crack, I lost signal (also Weak GPS Signal on screen) and never regained it. I even tried the RTH button, but it never reconnected. Being that the drone was at 800' elevation from the launch point, I assume that the climbing mode didn't actuate when the internal RTH command was issued.

Also, I have been receiving a constant errors in my recent flights which said: "FORWARD SENSOR CALIBRATION ERROR".

My guess is that my Mavic crashed into a mountaintop upon return as it didn't climb and didn't have forward sensors (although Sport mode was off). I could not investigate the crash site as it was too steep and would require crossing restricted mining land. What else could have happened (See attached screen shot)?

Mavic.jpg

Last edited:
What was your RTH elevation set at? If it was actually set lower than the climb you had just made, it would try to return home by going straight down, no?