DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Nearly lost my mini: what happened?

Shane034

Reactions
Hey guys.

I'm a new pilot. This morning I had my mini on the sea shore over the water: about 10 meters away from me and about 2 storeys high. Wind was a very light westerly- coming from behind me. I had the prop guards on too.

Anyway when I tried to return it back it wouldn't come. I panicked a bit and ended up pressing RTH which then started landing it on the water. I freaked and jammed up on the stick and while it didn't seem too happy to be doing so, it started to climb and I managed to get it back over the beach.

I need to figure out what went wrong. Wind is the obvious one but it was very light.

Apart from wind, what are the other common offenders? And I assumed RTH was already set automatically?

Thanks

Reactions: New England Droning
Likelihood is that it was caught in a gust. I'd try changing altitude first in future to see if that would help gaining back some control.

How about calibration and stuff like that?

I'm sure I tried going up. It was just very unresponsive. I was flying on land yesterday in stronger wind to test it and it still always laboured back to me.

@Shane034 for a start having the prop guards on really reduces the drone ability to combat any sort of wind,
and because you were so close to yourself ,when you Pressed RTH that would cause the drone to land ,i hope you have read the manual that is available to download from the DJI web site that will tell you about the different RTH settings and how to access them

I need to figure out what went wrong. Wind is the obvious one but it was very light.
Apart from wind, what are the other common offenders? And I assumed RTH was already set automatically?

There are a number of factors at play in your incident.
1. You flew outside with propguards.