DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Need advice on whale watching with drone

johnr448

Reactions
I’m new to droning, but am very much enjoying my Mini 2. I live in the San Diego area and this is the time of year when we have grey whales migrating by our coast. I’ve gone to the beach every day or two all through January trying to get footage of the whales (and, yes, intending to keep a good distance so I don’t scare them), but I just can’t get it to work. About every other time I go out, I’ll spot a whale from the cliffs. I would think I should easily be able to see a whale through the camera view on my display and go in for a little closer look, but what I see with my eyes just never seems to show up in the camera view. I feel like the problem is that there’s no visual queue to help with depth perception over the water, so I just can’t tell if a whale is 1/4 mile away or 3 miles out. Anyone have any tips for this?

Be sure to check federal laws on how close and how low you can fly relative to the whales...
Yes — already looked into it. NOAA Fisheries is developing specific guidelines, but currently just advises to keep enough distance to make sure you’re not disturbing them.

Yes — already looked into it. NOAA Fisheries is developing specific guidelines, but currently just advises to keep enough distance to make sure you’re not disturbing them.
Here’s the link to their recs though. Need to read it all (7or8 pages).
Looks like you should be at least 1000-1500’ altitude ... regardless of current laws in place.

Reactions: Torque
I don't have experience of whales.

With wildlife generally, you have to think one step ahead of their behaviour - which means first knowing their behaviour so you can anticipate what they'll do next. You also need to be a proficient drone flier so that flying a drone is second nature. Everything happens quickly with wildlife (unless it's sleeping lions).