DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Air 2 Pilot

ifr

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Just wanted to introduce myself. I live in St. George, Utah, and I recently purchased a Mavic Air 2 as my first drone. I'm an instrument-rated private pilot and have so enjoyed flying. Unfortunately I'm grounded now, so I thought flying a drone will at least keep me somewhat connected to the flying community. I learned quickly that if I want to do more with my drone I'll need to become a part 107 pilot, so I'm studying for that now. It's a good refresher for me.

I look forward to learning from you and hopefully contributing as my skills improve. Some of you are serious drone pilots!

I also appreciate the general tone in the posts. Most are professional and thoughtful, which I like very much.

Well done, pilots! I'm looking forward to this experience.

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum! Thumbswayup

Hello from Crossroads of America ifr.

Welcome to the Forum. 😎

Welcome aboard, ifr!

I had my A2 out at St. George last summer--lots of wonderful places to fly in your area. Unfortunately, it was July, and very hot. When attempting to fly even in the 108 degree cool of the evening, my iPad overheated, as did my iPhone. I hope to get back out there sometime when it's not summer.

--Jub

Edited typo: I was using an A2, not and A2S

Last edited:
I hear you. I took off from here in a Cessna 172 when it was108 outside, 120 degrees on the tarmac. It took a while to get over the mountains in the heat. Aside from 3 months, it's great weather. I constantly see balloons out my window due to the great flying conditions.

Reactions: eaglesurfing
I used to fly a hang glider, and definitely appreciated the greater lifting power of cool air vs. warm air. Never flew at anything approaching 108 degrees, but have to imagine that the air molecules are pretty far apart.