DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New batteries

Ralph thompson

Reactions
I had heard that it was recommended/important to cycle new batteries before use, full discharge and full recharge, on the Mavic series drones. What do knowledgable battery experts think please?

Reactions: rrazek36
I have no idea what a knowledgeable battery expert would say but I surely don't. I have no facility to do such a thing. Let it sit for 15 or 20 years and see if it is fully discharged? They will hold at their programmed 60% storage rate for quite some time.

• Haha
Reactions: dirkclod
Surely most Mavic batteries are shipped in hibernation mode and 'have' to be fully or at least partially charged before they can be used?

Reactions: mobilehomer
I had heard that it was recommended/important to cycle new batteries before use...
Nope ... "breaking in" is an older kind of myth that never have been proven in figures. If any positive long term effect can be seen at all, your batteries have been taken out of duty a long time before that due to other reasons.

Last edited:
Reactions: GadgetGuy
Might never been proven but I all ways have with all my drones
made sure and made sure they were topped of then flew them till they autolanded Then did so after I flew them awhile. Has always worked good for me but everyone has a opinion. That is mine and only had 1 issue in 7 years and was a bad battery and did crash.
DJI did replace my drone which was a P2V but that’s just the way I do it. 🤷‍♂️

whats more important in my opinion with new batteries of any drone ,is to treat them gently for the first ten charge /discharge cycles