DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Drone Pilot - Awaiting Weather For First Flight

WackeDad

Reactions
From the land of Boeing Airplane Company (Seattle WA), retired IT professional and avid amateur photographer. Hoping to see the world from a higher altitude. Looking forward to learning as much as possible before my first flight (we’re having a bit of a snow problem of late).

Very impressed with the quality of the MavicPilots forum, glad to be here.

Welcome from the other coast! I've been flying for a few months, but here we were dealing with rain and fog all last week. I hope you get airborne soon. I assume you have checked out FAADroneZone ?

Welcome from the other coast! I've been flying for a few months, but here we were dealing with rain and fog all last week. I hope you get airborne soon. I assume you have checked out FAADroneZone ?
Hi @Pavilk,

I’ve already got my FAA registration #, and passed my TRUST safety certification. Also a new member in the AMA. I started down the slippery slope of the 107 license but got cold feet (pun), and will try the recreational avenue for now. Sun’s just peeking out now, but it’ll take a while to erase the white wonderland.

Hello from the Crossroads of America WackeDad.

Looking forward to learning as much as possible before my first flight

You've come to the right place.

As mentioned above, swing by the FAA and register.

FAADroneZone

And take the TRUST test to have a copy with you when you fly.

https://www.faa.gov/uas/recreational_fliers/knowledge_test_updates/

Pilot Institute has a TRUST test portal to take the test.

A few apps worth having are the B4UFLY / ALOFT or AIRMAP.

These apps are free in the app stores that tell you what type of airspace you're flying in and you may get authorization to fly near airports through the use of LAANC.

Good luck and welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Hi @Pavilk,