DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New gig with my Drone

jaysrmc

Reactions
I contract for the DOE to do some inspections. I do a couple a week. I just got another job using my drone to inspect solar panels and take photos of them. It pays me 50 bucks to do that each one. Today I got 4 of them. Tomorrow I have 2. Work is out there guys, if you are 107 make sure your friends and family know. That is how you get the business.

Nice. Thanks for sharing. I’m just getting going with the aerial photography. I’ve been flying drones for 4 years but just passed the 107 exam a couple months ago. How does your pricing structure look. Just trying to get some idea of the market.

Thanks again.

Reactions: Bob in Savannah
If you do a lot of work with inspecting solar panels, the mavic enterprise dual apparently can use its flir camera to identify defective cells. This video shows how the defective cells dont absorb any of the light and reflects it back as a hot spot. Really makes me want to get into the drone business.

I contract for the DOE to do some inspections. I do a couple a week. I just got another job using my drone to inspect solar panels and take photos of them. It pays me 50 bucks to do that each one. Today I got 4 of them. Tomorrow I have 2. Work is out there guys, if you are 107 make sure your friends and family know. That is how you get the business.

Just my opinion unless you are taking off from your house, I'd say you are not charging enough. Typically I will not even do a local job for less than $150... and more typically $250.

Just my opinion unless you are taking off from your house, I'd say you are not charging enough. Typically I will not even do a local job for less than $150... and more typically $250.

DOE? He didn’t have a choice, as the low bidder gets the contracts.