DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New M2P Owner: Understanding IMU, Compass, and Magnetic Interference

pchaps

Reactions
Givens: M2P, folding controller, Go4, MavMount, iPad Air 2 with 2x 80mm 5vdc cooling fans on back. I am reading the forums voraciously for info,
Solve: Mag Interference before 1st flight, flight postoned.
I am a new Mavic 2 Pro owner. After being present for a successful test flight by the seller (a police officer who flies 300RTK at work), I methodicaly went through a checklist before my first solo with the used M2P, I have flown other recereational drones for years but not used to this system. I immediately got a "Mag Intereference" warning and prudently postoned my test flight to learn more, and postpone the flight.

I see that the IMU and the compass (or two) are on-board the aircraft. I am now aware that my test flight LZ was on a concrete driveway, likely laced with rebar. Now I know thats problematic.
While I get ready to go to a grassy field for calibration, I have to wonder about my iPad has external cooling fans, I had to think that the 80mm 5vdc fan have motors may contribute to a magnetic intereference problem (which I did see when I powered up first time).

Seeing that magnetic interference warning message sent me down a rabbit hole of jaw-dropping learning about fly-aways! Did I say Im glad that I didnt take off? Golly.

Given the DJI folding controller / Go4 and MavMount with iPadAir2 tablet and a dual-fan 5v cooler on the back of the iPad, how can I best handle compass calibration?
1. I am going to a grassy field 5 miles away for the compass calibration.
2. Is the iPad itself introducing magnetic problems, even without the cooling fans? Is there a preferred way - perhaps with volume buttons up as that edge has the motherboard inside?