DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic 2 Zoom Pilot

WahooBadger

Reactions
I am a fixed - wing AMA RC pilot who recently joined the ranks of Mavic 2 Zoom owners/pilots. I have downloaded and read the manual, found a great site with lots of additional tips and info, and done a lot of practice flying in the wide open spaces of my RC club field. I have done a couple waypoints missions - very cool capability - at 50 meters to avoid all trees and other obstacles.

I am taking some overhead photos for a local nonprofit animal rescue organization - pro bono as I am a strictly recreational pilot - to help them with some site planning for future expansion. I wanted to get one shot that included the entire facility, but 400 feet altitude would not do it. I have read the thread on flying above 400 feet and seems it should not be an issue, all I want to do is pop up to 1200 feet, grab the pics, and drop back down. But when I checked on the b4ufly app, it tells me there is a Military Training Route 2.64 miles from where I plan to do this. Does this have any impact on what I want to do? There are no airports within 35 miles of the location.

There are two other Mavic 2 pilots in my club - between them and the wealth of information here, I hope to avoid a visit to the "crash and recovery" thread :cool:

Yes flying above 400" is a issue and being what you say you are you should know that.
Not being smart about it just saying.
Welcome to the forum.

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

I believe there are ways to get waivers. I don't know anything about them other than that. Hopefully somebody more knowledgeable can chime in.

Welcome aboard though!

mikeg

I believe there are ways to get waivers. I don't know anything about them other than that. Hopefully somebody more knowledgeable can chime in.

mikeg
That’s when you summon @BigAl07 .?