DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Air 2 Owner questions

roboscan

Reactions
Hi,
I picked up a MA2 Fly-More Kit a few weeks ago and love it!

I'm coming from a Typhoon Q500 4K (got it back in '15 when it first came out) but hated the size and how imposing it looks (I rarely flew it because I thought people would be afraid of it, lol). I was always hesitant of DJI (not sure why - I guess the shop where I bought my first Quad (a Blade 350QX) swayed me a while back by telling me DJI was an unknown quantity and Yuneec / Blade had much more experience in the hobby industry - I just went with it) plus they both had fancy "hobby R/C level" remote controls with build-in screens requiring no mobile phone and such...

But I love this Mavic Air 2 - seriously! It handles so well. I'm not a pro-photographer / videographer but I love the images I'm getting from it. But mostly, it is just a joy to fly! Easy to take with me, easy to pre-flight, and handles so so well.

As I am new to the DJI product line, I did have some technical questions I wondered if anyone had the answers to:

1) Are the A.I. tracking features ("follow-mes" and such) handled inside the drone or is that actually being done inside the mobile device / remote control?