DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Air User Contoller Issues

MW3Designs

Reactions
Been flying my old Phantom 3 Standard for a while now, and just picked up a new to me Mavic Air. Excited to try it out, I had to download the DJI Go 4 app, and followed all the onscreen prompts for connecting the Mavic Air. Everything seemed good to go except nothing happened when I hit the joysticks on the controller. Seeing the red light I thought something was up, and found a quick YouTube video for connecting the controller. Now this is the weird part….. whenever my controller is connnected the wifi on the Mavic shuts off so I am not connected to the DJI Flight App….. The seller did not include the wire for the phone, so I don’t know if that would fix things or what. I am new to the Mavic Air, and any help would be appreciated.

did you try connecting the controller and phone via a normal USB to phone data cable via the big USB socket between the swing out arms, as shown around 0:48 in
?
If you manage to find replacement side cables try to get the little rectangular frame/slider that fits around the phone plug. I find it a great assistance when connecting the phone.
On the other hand some people hate them.

Your new Mavic Air can be operated i 3 ways ...

1. With a mobile device connected with a usb cable to the RC ... & the RC connected to the Mavic Air.

2. With only your mobile device, connected over WiFi directly to your Mavic Air ... and operated by virtual joysticks in the GO4 app. No RC is used with this method ...

3. Without both RC & mobile device ... your Mavic Air is instead operated by hand gestures.

Your way, trying to connect the mobile device to the Mavic Air with WiFi & operate it with the RC isn't applicable & will not work ... the red led on the RC means that it isn't connected to the Mavic Air.