DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Pro with low satellite counts - strong GPS signal

nismoz

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I am new to Mavic but I have been flying phantom for a couple months. I bought this Mavic Pro from an authorized DJI seller. It is New - Open box condition so it is still very new. I had to link the RC to the drone at first but everything went without issues and it has been flying well. I first updated the drone to v01.03.0900 and then now v01.03.1000.

The thing that I am most concerned is that the drone has been getting very low satellite counts since the beginning. It usually starts at 2 then slowly climbs up to 8-9. The highest count that I have been is 11 satellites. I had 3 phantom 4s and 2 phantom 3 pro. All my phantom 3 professional got up to 18 satellites at the same spot while all my phantom 4s and this Mavic got up to 11 satellites at max. Seriously, I have never seen them got 12+ satellites. I am in Orange County, Calif. Despite the fact that my Mavic is only getting 11 sats max, the signal bars is still high at maximum strength and I tested RTH from roughly 2.5km a couple times and the drone had no issues return to home. Sometimes, the LED flashes yellow light 3 times very fast and it continues for around 5 secs then it goes back to green as normal. I still have full control of the drone when the LED is yellow and the app does not show any warning. Sat count is still the same.

I am concerned since some people reported their drones also have 7-8 sats and then the drone suddenly lost all sat signal and it went to ATTI mode and crashed. DJI Go 4 app reports IMU and Compass are good so I have never calibrated IMU and Compass. Is that the reason why I am getting low sat count? and is it common for Phantom 3 pro to have more satellites than P4's and Mavic?

Thanks guys.

Reactions: Sew
Hi everyone,