New Mavic, should I update firmware?

hotopic1

Reactions
My Mavic finally arrived and this is what it shipped with:

Aircraft: 1.03.0400
Remote: 1.03.0600
App DB(?): 1.00.01.04

iOS App: current version.

I know there's lots of controversy and debate about the updates.

I don't really understand them. What are the changes?

But the iOS app is trying to push an update on me. Appreciate your advice. Thanks!

From my understanding, the Remote and Aircraft should always be on the same FW version ... but I am a rookie myself and just always update to the latest.

Try the stock FW 1st, then if you're not satisfied w/ it you can always upgrade.
Many b-new owners upgrade right out of the box and ended up w/ frustrations and stress while upgrading due to upgrade failing and all sorts of problem. JMHO!

Reactions: sonof40
I got my MP 2 weeks ago with the same firmware versions as you. Have had no problems using that combination and plan to stay there for now.

A guy from Brazil had a failure to RTH, same as me, he rolled back firmware because his opinion and experience is that the 0900 firmware is glitching RTH.

Here is his statement, from my very taxing first post on this forum... no comment lol.

I had the same problem.
I set everything right. I made a flight, I was 3,100 meters and I lost the control signal.
The Mavic did not do k RTH, he kept trying to go up, even after reaching the maximum altitude (checked in the log).
I was with 69% battery, it stayed like this until the battery reached 10% and landed. I needed to get my drone in a place of difficult access, I found it because I used the Find My Drone that was very precise.
I think it's a problem with the 0900 Firmware.
I've downgraded to the 0700.
I've seen several identical reports.
Sorry for my English, I'm Brazilian and I'm still learning.

He, as well as another fellow were very very helpful and resourceful individuals that were of great help in my RTH failure. (No comment on the rest of the crowd in my thread).