DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New member, looking for purchase advice

picpockett

Reactions
Hi,
I have never spent more than 5 minutes flying a drone, but am looking to purchase. For background, I am a professional stills photographer in Australia (Instagram) mainly working in editorial; news/sport/entertainment/portraiture. I have had a few requests for a drone recently so thought I should look into buying one to add to my kit. Can see it mainly being for stills for work, but would like to shoot video also of course. Can see the longer I am using a drone there might be opportunity to open up to shooting video professionally also.
I'm just trying to make the decision on which one to buy - the main 2 I have been looking at are Air 2S and Mavic Pro 2. I don't like the idea of no side object detection, even for stills I might see it getting into places where I need to get close to objects, who knows. But the Mavic Pro 2 is now 3 years old, and I know there is a 3 coming out at some point.
How do you find the lack of object detection on the 2S? Would you recommend I hold out for 6 months in the hope the Pro 3 comes out?
Any advice would be welcomed, thanks in advance!
Cheers,
Daniel

Hello from the Crossroads of America picpockett.

Nice to meet you Daniel. ?

Welcome to the Forum. :cool:

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .Thumbswayup

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Since no one has actually answered the OP's question, I'll give it a shot.
I would stay away from the MP2 as it's getting hard to find parts (like batteries) for it. As for the "next new thing", I generally tell people not to wait (as long as they have a current need)...because there will always be something new/better "just around the corner".