DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New owner and slightly confused

Maxit

Reactions
Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to drones, I was gifted one just tonight so have been trying to familiarise myself with all the rules and regs.

I understand that that I need to register and complete the test now.

I was looking at the drone code and maybe I'm just not getting this but my take on it is:

I can't fly within 50m of a person or building which is fine but also that I can not fly above 120m while at the same time not within 150m of a built up area (which I assume street etc are)

So going by the above are we literally restricted to flying over derelict fields, country side and deserted beaches?

Reactions: old man mavic
Hi all,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to drones, I was gifted one just tonight so have been trying to familiarise myself with all the rules and regs.

I understand that that I need to register and complete the test now.

I was looking at the drone code and maybe I'm just not getting this but my take on it is:

I can't fly within 50m of a person or building which is fine but also that I can not fly above 120m while at the same time not within 150m of a built up area (which I assume street etc are)

So going by the above are we literally restricted to flying over derelict fields, country side and deserted beaches?
welcome to the forum, you are correct that the rules do mean that you are not going to be able to fly directly over any city or highly populated area,but that does not mean you cannot be outside of that area some 150m,and 50m high and video the area in question,as long as the area you were flying in did not contain a gathering of a thousand people or more,the 120m height is the maximum permitted height above ground no matter where you fly

Reactions: Lionfish
Hi ,
I’m fairly new to this drone stuff too.