DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New owner of Mavic 2 pro

Reactions
Hey guys so I just ordered my Mavic 2 pro with the smart controller off the dji website a few days ago. This will be my first decent drone I have had so really low end ones that I liked flying tho. I am a fixed wing private pilot and am getting my endorsement for UA. I just wanna ask. Straight from the box. What should I watch out for while learning how to pilot it.

YouTube has a good number of Mavic 2 Pro setup videos and first flight introductions. Like you I just bought a M2P though I also have a Mavic Pro but I still went through a number of the tutorial videos for camera setup, and basic information I take for granted. Because of battery life I prefer flying the drone a significant amount of time to learn it's nuances before focusing on my terrible video cinematography!! :) I definitely fly mine line of sight, not to high (very aware of winds aloft) and not to far.. though I really want to give waypoint and POI a go sometime in the future.

You'll be amazed how easy it is to fly--much simpler than your Cessna or Piper, but still not foolproof.

If you approach flying it the same way you do your fixed-wing aircraft, you will have no problems.

You made an excellent choice in the M2P.. You will discover what a terrific camera platform it is.

Welcome to our Forum!