DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New pilot check in from SE Pennsylvania

zparker

Reactions
Hi everyone! I've been lurking around for a few months now. I've enjoyed a lot of posts and collecting bits of nuggets of knowledge throughout the forum. Thank you to all of you who share such a wealth of knowledge. I'm a new new pilot and it helped to read up on tips and precautionary items in relationship to the Mavic Mini even before the first flight. I've had her for a couple months now and really enjoy it. I started getting over my nerves being an issue every time I took the MM up.

I'm over the new pilot gitters. But, now my main focus is to just have the controls feel like second nature. I'm getting a feel for what it's capability actually is and isn't. I feel that learning its limitations is important as a pilot. That way you fly smarter. And it's more likely you'll make it home and fly another day. Also learning to read flight telemetry data slowly so I can analyze the flights afterwards. Pretty impressive how much data DJI gives you.

Recently I flew the Mini out to in a local park to see what she could do in my area in terms of distance. I didn't get too far before radio down link was lost for about 17 seconds. Granted, there were a lot of things between myself and the drone like a set of electric cables, trees, maybe a few structures. The fail safe RTH feature worked very well.

I look forward to the day where I can get away in a really remote area and try her out. I'm already considering an addition to the fleet as well. Love DJI so far but am also curious about the US drone company Skydio and am looking to pickup a Skydio2 for autonomous stuff as well as the Mavic 3 when it comes out. Still weighing that out.... not sure I want to buy two this year. Also need to see what happens with the US legislation in the works.

If your interested here's my first video

Welcome to the forum.