DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New pilot here, deciding between Air 2 or Mini?

chrisgangai

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I love this forum, and you all have great insight, thank you for taking time out to post feedback!

Here is my scenario. I am new to drone flying and originally started with a Tello. Recently I purchased the Mavic Mini and have captured some footage of a dried out creek bed, a family caravan, and a winery! So far, so good! However, I have crashed the drone twice, and both times caused by damage. Once to the body and gimbal, the other to the rear left arm that holds the motor (it cracked). Here's the catch, both times I've crashed the drone, it was at my Townhouse community where the walls to the next hours are about two car widths apart (maybe 2 1/2). While flying, the walls appear closer on the screen vs. where the actual drone is. Anyhow, I lost sight of the drone, and next thing I know, a gust of wind pushes it sideways, BAM! right into a garage door. Lesson learned: never fly in my neighborhood again.

Luckily I have been able to swap them out and get new ones, but I'm tired of the cheapness of material when the drone falls from less than 5ft up. Yes, I could have epoxied it back together or even replace that arm, but with the Air 2 coming out, is it worth it?

I plan to get better at shots and take more landscape photos and overhead shots. Similar to what most of you are doing in the open areas. BUT, is it better to learn on the Mini or spend the extra $500 on the Mavic Air 2? Of course, I will be more careful with either!

it wouldn't matter how much you spent on your drone ,if you fly it in an inaproppriate location between houses as you described,the MA is superior in many ways but will still break if it crashes

I concur, getting a more expensive drone may result in more expensive repairs.

But the reality is that you need to manage your expectations of what a drone can or can't do.