DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New to Drones

CBurley

Reactions
Hi everyone!

I am new here and completely new to drones. I have a mavic mini fly more combo being delivered tomorrow and I can’t even explain how excited I am.

I have also ordered the WRAPGRADE full body and accent wraps to aid with visibility of the drone whilst in flight.

I’m based in Portsmouth and was hoping for any beginners tips and help on how to start.

I used to be a professional photographer so have an understand of cameras and composition of images but no idea on flying them!

Thanks all in advance!!!

First, congratulations on your mini. I started with my quick start guide for my Mavic Pro along with the manual. Youtube has helpful videos like this
. You'll also find other beginners looking for the same help here so there are threads that will help you too. My first foray into flying
was some basic takeoffs to a low hover of about 3 feet keeping the drone close in front of me . gaining height and distance was done incrementally as I became more comfortable .Practice flying away from you at a short distance , turning the drone 180 degrees ( both to the right and left ) and flying back to you . As that progressed , after studying the controls for camera use , I started taking photos.
Your photography background will serve you well and provide some nice camera work that would be nice if you posted here for all to see.
You should be getting more posts to this thread. I'm thankful for the help I received here.

Thanks guys! All help is much appreciated. I’m gutted that we are forecast yet another storm over this weekend so I may have to spend the next few days researching before I can actually get outside

Reactions: old man mavic
Welcome. Hope you love your new drone. My advice would be to read all you can about flying your drone. This forum is a great resource, and the people here are always willing to help out.