DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New User And Few Technical Questions

Grizzo

Reactions
Hi. I'm new to Drones and have just joined the Forum.
I recently started flying my new Mavic Pro and am having a lot of fun with this new toy.

My question is regarding the Return To Home when signal from the RC is lost.
The user manual has this confusing caution;

"If you move the throttle stick (left joystick) after the aircraft rises above 65 ft but below the preset Failsafe RTH altitude, the aircraft will stop ascending and immediately return to the home point."

How does the aircraft know if you move the left stick is you have lost signal?

What if you are in the process of using the left stick and you lose signal but continue trying to fly higher because you didn't realise the signal dropped out? Does that mean the aircraft won't rise to the preset altitude for RTH?

Reactions: zero1981
First of all, Welcome to the forum and congratulations on reading the manual.

If the Mavic looses connection with the RC, it will initiate Failsafe RTH according to the parameters you set in Go 4. Since it has lost signal it will not respond to any RC inputs. What is common is that either by raising in height or getting closer to the RC, the connection with the RC will be re-established. Then it will respond as the manual states.

Last edited:
Reactions: zero1981
"If you move the throttle stick (left joystick) after the aircraft rises above 65 ft but below the preset Failsafe RTH altitude, the aircraft will stop ascending and immediately return to the home point."
This only applies if the remote controller is still connected to the Mavic while it's ascending to the RTH altitude.

What if you are in the process of using the left stick and you lose signal but continue trying to fly higher because you didn't realise the signal dropped out?