DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New User from Indiana

Reactions
Hello from Indiana. I am a new home inspector and plan on using a drone for unwalkable roofs as well as for fun. I am currently trying to sift through all of the differences on the Mavic drones. I want one that takes the highest quality photos and possibly has the ability to zoom. From what I am finding there are no Mavic drones that zoom on still photos. Is that correct? Currently leaning towards the DJI Air 2S. Any help and info from veterans would be appreciated.

Hello from the Crossroads of America Inspector General from a fellow Hoosier.

I am a new home inspector and plan on using a drone for unwalkable roofs as well as for fun.

If you didn't know, If you use a drone for commercial work, you'll need to have a Part 107 certificate to lawfully use it for the business.

Whichever drone you get, it'll need to be registered with the FAA.

Last but not least, you'll have to pass the TRUST quiz and have a copy with you when flying.

From what I am finding there are no Mavic drones that zoom on still photos. Is that correct?

I think the Mavic2 Zoom has the ability for zoom photography. ?

Welcome to the Forum. 😎

Last edited:
Thank you for the info. I will begin by using it for fun while I work skills and on my Part 107 certification. Unfortunately, by the time I added the fly more bundle, a case, and taxes the Mavic 2 Zoom is about $2000 and that is just a little more than I can spend.

Thank you for the info. I will begin by using it for fun while I work skills and on my Part 107 certification. Unfortunately, by the time I added the fly more bundle, a case, and taxes the Mavic 2 Zoom is about $2000 and that is just a little more than I can spend.
Indiana - a decent place to live. No earthquakes, hurricanes, wild fires, mud slides, tsunamis, volcanoes, or avalanches. Other than that it's pretty boring, but I like it.

Reactions: Steel63