DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New York City Drone Pilots wanted!

WilliamsDrone

Reactions
Hey guys,

I'm a greenhorn drone pilot and (hopefully) will get my PART 107 certificate soon after I will pass the test on monday...

Since days I desperately try to understand the regulations in NYC, especialy working with AIRMAP. Are there any NYC-pilots in this forum who can help me out with how to use and undertand AIRMAP in NYC to be on the safe side when picking a spot to fly?

Thanks a lot,
Henry

The last I heard was that city dwellers were advised to call 911 if they saw a drone in flight. Perhaps there is a designated park or such place to fly, but you would have to do some internet searching, and make sure that any information you find is current. Regulations change quickly.

The issue isn't so much the federal rules / FAA. It's that the NYPD is drone hostile and uses various vague laws (such as reckless endangerment) to go after drone pilots in the city. There's no specific law banning drones (outside 99% of city parks where a law bans any sort of "aerial device") but if you try to fly in NYC outside the few sanctioned flying fields , you can apparently be subject to arrest.

Last edited:
I am 107 certified and visited NYC last week. Before going I researched the prospects of flying my drone. Looked to me to be **** near impossible to fly anywhere in or around NYC for 1 reason or another. Left the drone at home.

Reactions: Former Member
The problem is that there are hundreds of opinions out there and things people heard about what you can do and what you can not do. For example: The 911-thing is true, but it doesn't mean it's now allowed to fly anywhere in NYC. It's just a safety thing like "better safe than sorry" / "if you see something, say something". It just gives the police the chance to check out if that flight is actually legal or not.