DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie Compass Calibration Questions

Videoman

Reactions
Just wanting to check with everyone on something regarding compass calibration on the Mavic. So my 2 questions are:

1. If on start-up, the Mavic does not say anything about requiring a calibration, does that mean I do not have to do one?
2. If I have flown half way around the world, take out my Mavic and start it up, will it then tell me I need a calibration?

I'm also interested to hear from others who have taken their Mavic's half way around the world and not done a calibration ... and their Mavic's have still flown perfectly.

Thanks in advance.

Reactions: DesertDweller
Hi Videoman, I am also a beginner, but so far I have only calibrated the mavic when it says it's required. Only once so far, however, I haven't traveled to far with it. Too busy. No issues as of now. Happy flying.

Reactions: Videoman
Hi Videoman, I am also a beginner, but so far I have only calibrated the mavic when it says it's required. Only once so far, however, I haven't traveled to far with it. Too busy. No issues as of now. Happy flying.
Yep same here ... was just concerned as I'm traveling on holiday from New Zealand to South Africa in a few weeks and was just wondering if I should re-calibrate when I get there, even if it says I needn't calibrate ... a little saying keeps popping up in my head "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" ... LOL

Just wanting to check with everyone on something regarding compass calibration on the Mavic. So my 2 questions are: 1. If on start-up, the Mavic does not say anything about requiring a calibration, does that mean I do not have to do one?