DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie : do not understand what happened

Graine-d'Étoile

Reactions
Hello dear MM owners !

I just hope you are all well even if stuck home.
I got my MM for my birthday three days ago. I'm in France.
As I'm a beginner, I fly safe, nothing complicated, no crash at all.

It was flying like in a dream, but I almost crashed it yesterday, without understanding why.

The weather was perfect, no wind, 25°C outside.

I was quite high over my home when the low battery alarm started beeping, so I asked the drone to get down (C mode). I had still 5 mins to go at the beginning of the video. Plenty of time to land, in theory.
Then... I lost control, it got totally crazy.
It miraculously stabilized 2m above the ground, and I could land it safely on the deck.

But what happened ? If you've got a clue, I'd be happy to have your opinion.

Link to the video

welcome to the forum

Reactions: Skyfli
Welcome to the world of drones and this forum and you made a good choice with the Mavic Mini.

Well analyzing your situation what I came to the conclusion is:
1) it could be magnetic interference that affected the compass, that usually causes it: antennas, goal, power poles (everything that makes up the magnetic field) and that affects the stability of the drone and the positioning.

2) You said I already gave you the low battery warning, right?
Since you get the low battery warning it is not recommended to continue flying, since the battery does not give enough power to keep everything running smoothly.

Possible solutions that might work: