DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Newbie looking for advice shooting soccer games

gregmavic

Reactions
All,

I specifically bought the Mavic Pro as it wasn't much more money than a nice camcorder or DSLR camera with video. I mainly purchased it to film my son's soccer games to create highlight footage for college recruiting. I am hoping for some help from the group. I did search all forums so I hope my questions have not been asked. Keep in mind I'm a newbie (3 total flights).

1. Have you received complaints filming sporting events from players, coaches, referees, parents, etc.? I DO NOT want to be a nuisance. Noise is more concerning than sight in my opinion. I would love if no one even noticed I was filming.
2. What mode do you suggest I film in? I'd like it to be as automated as possible since i'm new. I played around with Waypoints, Tripod and Point of Interest today. My issue was that the gimbal was not focusing on anything in Waypoints and Tripod. In Point of Interest I'm not sure it could focus on anything as the players and ball are always moving. I would use ActiveTrack but I worry if I'm following a player (ie my son) it is going to want to get too close. I prefer it not fly over the field as it would distract players. I assume shooting with a zoom in one of these settings would be best? I think you can't zoom in 4K. I don't know how to zoom at this point.
3. Are there any accessories to the Mavic Pro I need to shoot?

I'm sure I will have follow-ups as I'm new but I think this is a good start. I appreciate any and all help. Glad I found the community.

Thanks,
Greg

Last edited:
Even though it sounds like a cool idea to film your son's soccer games, and I can see why you'd want to try this, I don't see this working out well for you.